Aurora’s Scientific Technological & Research Academy (ASTRA), in Hyderabad (Andhra Pradesh), offers an array of technical courses at various disciplines.

Aurora’s Scientific Technological & Research Academy

Aurora’s Scientific Technological & Research Academy, popularly known as ASTRA, is located in Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh. The institute was established in 1989. Since then, the institute has been playing a vital role in imparting technical education in the state. It is affiliated to Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University and recognized by All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), New Delhi. ASTRA is sponsored by Aurora Educational Society. The college offers B. Tech and M. Tech courses in computer science, information technology and electronics & communication engineering as well as Masters in Business Administration and Computer Applications. 

In 1989, Ramesh Nimmatoori laid the foundation of Aurora’s Scientific Technological & Research Academy. The college was initially started with four departments - Mathematics, Computer Science, Statistics and Electronics, with an intake of 62 students. In 1993, two new departments were added – Biological Science and Commerce and in 1995, the college started offering MBA and MCA as well. In 1998, Aurora established the engineering college in a wide spread area of 600 acres. Today, ASTRA has set a benchmark in the field of technical education in Andhra Pradesh.

Affiliated to: JNTU Hyderabad


The college offers the following undergraduate programme:
    BE (Biotechnology)
    BE (Civil Engineering)
    BE (Computer Science & Engineering)
    BE (Electronics & Communication Engineering)
    BE (Information Technology)

Post Graduate:
The college offers the following postgraduate programmes:
M Tech
    ME (Computer Science & Engineering)
    ME (Electronics and Communication Engineering)
    ME (Very Large Scale Integration)


For getting enrolled in B Tech, one must have a pass in the intermediate Examination (10+2) with Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics as compulsory subjects, with the minimum marks required.

Post Graduate:
The candidate must have done BE / B Tech in the relevant discipline, from a recognized University.

Applicants must be graduates with Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics as compulsory subjects at the Intermediate level.

Minimum qualification for MBA is graduation in any stream.
Admission Procedure:

Candidates are selected on the basis of the marks obtained by them in EAMCET.

Entrance Test: EAMCET Exam

Post Graduate:
Candidates are selected on the basis of their performance in GATE (for ME) / ICET (MBA and MCA).

Entrance Test: ICET, GATE Exam
  • Library
  • Laboratories
  • Games and Sports
  • Canteen
  • Internet
  • Transportation

Contact Address:
Aurora’s Scientific Technological & Research Academy
Keshavagiri Post,
Near Chandrayana Gutta,
Hyderabad - 500 005, Andhra Pradesh
Phone: +91-40-2444 0840
Fax: +91-40-2444 3163

move to top