Information on courses, admissions process, exams & results of University of Kerala (Kerala University), Thiruvananthapuram

University of Kerala

University of Kerala, also known as Kerala University, is an affiliating university located in Thiruvananthapuram in Kerala, India. The university ranks among the top Universities in India. National Assessment and Accreditation Council, NAAC, has accredited it B++ Grade University. Kerala University is the first University in the country (India) to provide a student representative to the Syndicate. Presently there are 10 students in the Academic Council and 16 students in the Senate, the Supreme Authority of the University.
Educational Streams
The university offers BA/ B Sc/ B Com and MA/ M Sc/ M Com and other Professional courses from its several colleges and institutions. M Phil Degree is awarded to the eligible candidates in respective areas. The students must be passed in the qualifying examination securing desired merit at the time of the admission.
Distance mode of learning is also the part of this university prospectus. A number of courses; Certificate, Diplomas, Degree and Master Degree courses are studied through distance mode through different centers in the state of Kerala.
Learners of this university enjoy of having good residential facilities. Hostel facility is provided to the students. Sahitya camps, film festivals, Nataka camps, Nadan kalamela, Samskarika jatha, Kaviyarangu, Chitrakala camp, Orientation camps, Cartoon camps, IT fests etc. are timely held by the university.
There is a University Library where a large stock of books and journals are available. The library subscribes to several foreign Journals, Indian periodicals, popular magazines and Newspapers. Now, the library has installed computer system for a LAN & CD-ROM network. The Library also offers CD-ROM on many subjects. Internet facility is offered at slashed rates. OPAC and internet facility is also available.
Established as University of Travancore in 1937 and became the University of Kerala in 1987. It was the sixteenth University to be set up in India.


  • Department of Aquatic Biology & Fisheries 
  • Department of Arabic  
  • Archaeology 
  • Department of Biotechnology
  • Department of Biochemistry
  • Department of Botany
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Communication & Journalism University
  • Department of Computer Science 
  • Department of Demography 
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Education
  • Institute of English Senate House Campus
  • Department of Environmental Sciences
  • Department of Futures Studies 
  • Department of Geology 
  • Department of German Senate
  • Department of Hindi 
  • Department of History
  • Institute of Distance Education
  • Institute of Management in Kerala (IMK)
  • Department of Islamic Studies 
  • Department of Law University Campus
  • Department of Library & Information Science 
  • Department of Linguistics University Campus
  • Department of Malayalam  
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Music
  • Department of Optoelectronics University Campus
  • Oriental Research Institute & Manuscripts Library
  • Department of Philosophy 
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Psychology
  • Department of Russian Senate House Campus
  • Department of Sanskrit University Campus
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Statistics
  • Department of Tamil
  • Department of Zoology 

Contact Details:
University of Kerala
Thiruvananthapuram - 695 034

Phone: +91-471-2305738, 2305994
Fax: +91-471-2307158
PrintRecommend This Site
Report Error


move to top