Information on courses, admissions process, exams & results of Sambalpur University (Sambalpur University Orissa), Sambalpur

Sambalpur University

Sambalpur University, which began its operations in January 1967, is situated at the heart of western Orissa, in the beautiful city of Sambalpur, surrounded by dense forest and hills. Ten districts of Orissa namely Sambalpur, Sundargarh, Jharsuguda, Deogarh, Bargarh, Bolangir, Subarnapur, Nawapara, Kalahandi, Boudh and Athamallik Sub-Division of Angul District are covered under the territorial jurisdiction of the University.
Educational Streams
Sambalpur University offers quality education to the students, the Post-Graduate Departments of the University offer one-year study Programme for M.Phil Degree, two years study programme M.A./MSc./LLM/ Business Administration/ MLib & Inf Science degree, One Year PG Diploma Course in Computer Science & Application and Diploma Course in Sambalpuri Studies and Three Year course in MCA and Executive MBA. The Post Graduate Departments of Chemistry, Life Sciences, History, Economics, Library & Information Sciences and Mathematics have been granted autonomous status by the University. Self-financing courses of the University include MSc in Computer Science, MSc in Bio-Technology, MCA under Self-Financing Course, Executive MBA, PG Diploma in Business Economics, Master of Population Studies, Master of Social Work and MSc in Bio-Informatics.
The University has many Post-Graduate Hostels situated in the University campus out of which four Hostels are for ladies and six are for gents. The hostel inmates are provided with several facilities like Common Room with TV, Reading Room with Newspaper and Magazine, Guest Room, First Aid, STD Telephone booth, etc. A Central Canteen is located near the Hostel Campus for the benefit of students. The University provides all the basic amenities like two Nationalized Banks, one Post-Office, one Health Centre, one Auditorium, one Police-Out Post, one Faculty House and one Community Centre have been established to provide services to students/teachers and employees in the Campus. The University has a Central Library located in the heart of the university that has books in various subjects, and also subscribe a good number of periodicals in different disciplines.
The Sambalpur University was created by an Act passed by the Legislature of Orissa on 10th December, 1966 to fulfill long cherished dream of the people of Western Orissa for establishment of a University. The dream for a University was crystallized on 1st January, 1967 when the University started functioning.


  • Anthropology
  • Chemistry
  • Earth Science
  • Economics
  • Electronics
  • English
  • Environmental Science
  • History
  • Home Science
  • Life Science
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Oriya
  • Political Science
  • Sociology
  • Statistics
  • Law  
  • Library & Information Science
  • Business Administration
  • Diploma in Sambalpuri Studies
  • Computer Science
  • Journalism

Contact Details:
Sambalpur University
Jyoti Vihar
Burla - 768 019

Phone: +91-663-827157 / 827158
PrintRecommend This Site
Report Error


move to top