Information on courses, admissions process, exams & results of Pune University (University of Pune), Pune

Pune University

Located in northwestern part of the city, Pune University was formerly known as the University of Poona. The university has its jurisdiction in Pune, Ahmednagar and Nasik districts. Located in 400 acre campus, Pune University has state of the art facilities offering a wide array of academic programs.
Educational Streams
Pune University provides an ideal atmosphere to pursue research in various areas of Science, Arts, Commerce and Languages to its students. The University has around 40 various departments which provide a wide range of academic programs. The University has carved a prominent place for itself in various areas of research and teaching, and continues to strive for excellence. The Pune University is especially famous for its research activities and has recognized 70 research institutions for research. Institutions of national importance like the Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA), National Chemical Laboratory (NCL), National Centre for Cell Science (NCCS), National Institute of Virology (NIV), Gokhale Institute of Politics and Economics (GIPE), Documentation Research and Training Centre (DRTC) of the Indian Statistical Institute (ISI) among others are included in the list of recognized research institutions.
Hostel facility to both girls and boys is provided at the University of Pune. Students of the University are granted the hostel facility strictly on the basis of merit. The department size is the key factor for deciding the number of seats for each department. Its library has approximate 4.2 lakhs books, periodicals and other study material.
Formerly known as University of Poona, the University of Pune was established under the Poona University Act, passed by the Bombay Legislature on 10th February, 1948. The then Chief Minister and Education Minister of the government of Bombay, Shri B.G. Kher, ensuref the university received enough allocation of land for its campus.


  • Centre of Advanced Study in Sanskrit
  • Centre for Network Computing
  • Centre for Modeling And Simulation
  • Centre For Performing Arts
  • Department of Anthropology
  • Department of Atmospheric and Space Sciences
  • Department of Biotechnology
  • Department of Bioinformatics
  • Department of Botany
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Communication Studies
  • Department of Communication and Journalism
  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Economics 
  • Department of Electronics
  • Department of English
  • Department of Environment Science
  • Department of Geography
  • Department of Geology
  • Department of History
  • Department of Law
  • Department of Library and Information Sciences
  • Department of Management Sciences
  • Department of Marathi
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Microbiology
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Politics & Public Administration
  • Department of Psychology
  • Department of Sanskrit
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Statistics
  • Department of Zoology
  • Educational Multimedia Research Centre (EMRC)
  • Institute of Bioinformatics and Biotechnology
  • International Centre
  • Interdisciplinary School of Health Science
  • Interdisciplinary School for Scientific Computing
  • University Scientific Instrumentation Centre (USIC)
  • Women's Studies Centre

Contact Details:
Pune University,
Ganeshkhind Road - 411 007

Phone: +91-20-25601099 / 25696061 / 25690062 / 25696064 / 25696065
PrintRecommend This Site
Report Error


move to top