Information on courses, admissions process, exams & results of Nagpur University (Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University), Nagpur

Nagpur University

Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University is an important university in the state of Maharashtra. It was established as Nagpur University in 1923. One of the oldest universities in India, it is a member of the Association of Indian Universities (AIU). Recognized by University Grants Commission, it has been accredited with B Grade by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council, NAAC. It is a state university governed by Maharashtra Universities Act, 1994.
Educational Streams
Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University offers multi-level courses of diverse structure in a wide spectrum of domains. Research programs on several areas can be pursued by able candidates. International students can also get admission here on account of eligibility. 

In recent years, several career oriented courses like Business Management, Library Science and Mass Communication have been added to curriculum. Traditional courses like Arts, Social Science, Education and Law are of course the part of curriculum. 

Faculty of Home Sciences offer high-in-demand courses like Interior Design, Cosmetic Technology, Hotel Management and Catering Technology, Printing Design, Fashion Design, and Textile Design.
Nagpur university provides separate hostels for boys and girl students. The central library of the university has a large number of journals and books on wide range of subjects. Apart from the central library, there are departmental libraries as well. Along with health center, and sports facilities, the university has set up organizations like University Employment and Guidance Bureau, International Students Service Center, Pre IAS Examination Coaching Center for Minority Communities and Backward Classes. E-Suvidha is also one of the useful facilities provided in the university. Facility of Placement Assistance and Career Counseling is also given by the university.
Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University or RTMN University was founded as Nagpur University in 1923. The University was later rechristened after Rashtrasant Tukdoji Maharaj. In 1958, some new departments in Arts and Social Science faculties were opened. The major extension came in 1963 when several science and other teaching departments were started. The departments were shifted to spacious buildings in the main campus in 1972.


  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Art/Faculty of Social Science
  • Faculty of Home Science
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Commerce
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Engineering & Technology
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Ayurveda

Contact Details:
Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University
Rabindranath Tagore Marg - 440 001

Phone: +91-712-2525417
Fax: +91-712-2532841
PrintRecommend This Site
Report Error


move to top