Information on courses, admissions process, exams & results of Dr B R Ambedkar University (Agra University), Agra

Dr B R Ambedkar University

Dr BR Ambedkar University is a state university, recognised and funded by the UGC. Presently the University takes care of the educational need of the seven districts of Agra Division including Agra, Aligarh, Mainpuri, Hathras, Firozabad, Etah and Mathura. Besides having approximately 200 affiliated colleges, the University has more than 10 residential Institutes spread over Paliwal Park, Khandari Campus, Civil Lines Campus and Chhaleshar Campus.
Educational Streams
The University is getting accolades as a centre for higher scientific vocational and job oriented education and innovative research. The University has developed Dr BR Ambedkar Chair for providing studies in constitutional law and contemporary social issues, human rights, labour laws and International laws. The University has also established SUR PEETH in genesis to facilitate the study of Brij Languages, Brij Culture and Brij Folk Arts. It has also added Centre for Gandhian Studies for the in-depth study of Ghandhian Philosophy, as a need for combating violence in the modern world.
The University provides all the basic facilities to its students like Sports Council, Career guidance and employment bureau, SC/ST Cell, Foreign Students Advisory Council, Placement Cell, NSS, NCC and Separate Girls and Boys Hostel. A well organised Library and Central Computer Centre is also there in the University. It has facilitated a Central Library and individual libraries in each department. A good academic environment and a quite ambience are maintained in the library so that the scholars/students can read their material peacefully in the library.
Originally known as Agra University, Dr BR Ambedkar University was founded on the 1st of July, 1927. Enthusiastic educationists like Rev. Canon A.W. Davis, Munshi Narain Prasad Asthana, Dr L.P. Mathur, Lala Dewan Chand, Rai Bahadur Anand Swaroop and Dr Brajendra Swaroop had to put their great efforts for the formation of the University. Formerly it had only four faculties - Arts, Sciences, Commerce and Law. Following Disciplines were added subsequently, Faculties of Medicine (1936), Agriculture (1938), Home Science (1980), Basic Sciences (1981), Fine Arts (1982) and Management (1994). In 1996 the University was renamed as Dr BR Ambedkar University.


  • Department of Arts
  • Department of Sciences
  • Department of Commerce and Law
  • Department of Faculties of Medicine
  • Department of Agriculture
  • Department of Home Science
  • Department of Basic Sciences
  • Department of Fine Arts
  • Department of Management

Contact Details:
Dr BR Ambedkar University,
Paliwal Park
Agra - 282 004

Phone: +91-562-2820051, 2852118, 2852136
Fax: +91-562-2520051
PrintRecommend This Site
Report Error


move to top