Information on courses, admissions process, exams & results of Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirapalli

Bharathidasan University

Bharathidasan University is located in Tiruchirapalli district of Tamil Nadu. It is named after a revolutionary Tamil poet. Besides the main campus of the University at Trichy, there exists a city campus at Khajamalai. Its educational jurisdiction spreads over eight districts including Tiruchirappalli, Karur, Perambalur, Thanjavur, Nagapattinam, Tiruvarur, Ariyalur and Pudukkottai.
Educational Streams
Bharathidasan University offers more than 250 academic programmes that can broadly be classified into UG, PG, MPhil, Diploma/PG Diploma and Certificate Programmes. Apart from the regular courses offered at the University, there is a Centre for Distance Education that offers educational programs in Computer Science and Applications, Information Technology, e-Commerce, Bio-Informatics, Gene-Technology, Bank Management, Financial Management, Co-Operation, Library and Information Science. The university attracts a large number of students for its integrated and inter-disciplinary five-year Masters' programmes in the fields of Geo-Sciences, Media and Communication and Physics.
Khajamalai Campus houses the Centre for Distance Education, the Institute for Entrepreneurship and Career Development (IECD), the Bharathidasan University Technology Park (BUTP) and a few more departments. Apart from the regular courses, the university also provides skill based academic services such as  Bharathidasan University Business Development Cell (BDU-BDC), Bharathidasan University Technology Park (BUTP), Institute for Entrepreneurship and Career Development (IECD), UGC-INFONET Programme and suggested Skill-Based Electives to UG Students. The university also extends adult education and extension programs.
Bharathidasan University campus includes infrastructural facilities like the library, boys and girls hostels, computer centre, information centre (internet) and yoga centre. Bank extension counter of the State Bank of India, post office and telecom centre are located in the campus.
Established in February 1982, Bharathidasan University has been named after the great revolutionary Tamil Poet, Bharathidasan (1891-1968). 


  • Department of English and Other Foreign Languages
  • Department of Environmental Sciences
  • Department of Geo Sciences
  • Department of Indian Languages
  • Department of Basic Medical Sciences
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Computer Science, Engineering & Applications
  • Department of Economics, Commerce & Financial studies
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Engineering & Technology

Contact Details:
Bharathidasan University,
Pudukkottai Highway (NH 210)
Tiruchirapalli - 620 024

Phone: +91-431-660 271
Fax: +91-431-660 245
PrintRecommend This Site
Report Error


move to top