Information on courses, admissions process, exams & results of Anna University of Technology Chennai, Chennai

Anna University of Technology Chennai

Anna University of Technology, located at Tharamani, in the capital city of Chennai, Tamil Nadu, is an offshoot of the split of Anna University into six different Universities. This University was established to provide excellent learning in technical education and research. Anna University of Technology Chennai has the power to grant affiliations to various colleges and institutions which conduct undergraduate and post graduate courses in engineering, technology, management, and allied science subjects. There are 165 self-financing, four constituent, and one government engineering college functioning under the university’s fold, which fall within the university area of Chennai, Kancheepuram, Thiruvallur, Vellore, Thiruvannamalai, and Villupuram in Tamil Nadu.
Educational Streams
The colleges and institutions affiliated to Anna University of Technology offer undergraduate degree programs in several faculties of Engineering, Architecture, and Technology. Similarly, the university also offers post graduate courses in numerous Engineering and Technological branches along with a Masters program in Architecture. Besides, the university conducts post graduate programs, like Computer Application (MCA) and Master of Business Administration (MBA).
To impart basic and applied research in the field of science and engineering among the students and faculty members, the Centre for Research was established and is successfully functioning since June 2010. The centre offers PhD programs in different branches of Engineering, Technology, Science, and Humanities. Admission to these PhD programs is conducted twice a year: January and July.
Besides conducting quality educational degree programs, the University has established a Centre for Student Affairs with the objective of transacting the matters related to the students of all affiliated colleges, admitted from the academic year 2010-2011 onwards. To help the students who would be admitted in the self-financing engineering colleges, the centre co-ordinates with the Directorate of Technical Education and the Controller of Examinations of Anna University of Technology Chennai.
Anna University of Technology was established on February 1, 2007, after Anna University was split into six individual universities. The parent institution, Anna University, named after CN Annadurai, was founded in 1978 via integration of four technical institutions, namely, College of Engineering Guindy, Alagappa College of Technology, Madras Institute of Technology, and School of Architecture and Planning.


  • Faculty of Civil Engineering and Architecture
  • Faculty of Mechanical Engineering
  • Faculty of Electrical Engineering
  • Faculty of Information and Communication Engineering
  • Faculty of Technology
  • Faculty of Management Sciences

Contact Details:
Anna University of Technology Chennai
Central Polytechnic Campus
Tharamani - 600 113

Phone: +91-44-22541753
Fax: +91-44-22541753
PrintRecommend This Site
Report Error

move to top