National Institute of Technology conducts a joint all-India entrance test for admission into their Master of Computer Application (MCA) programmes popularly known as NIMCET.


National Institute of Technology (NITs) are premier Technical Institutions of National repute and are fully funded by Government of India. The NIMCET (National Institutes of Technology MCA Common Entrance Test) is a national level entrance test conducted by NITs for admission to their MCA programme. NIMCET is conducted by NITs on rotational basis.


The entrance test is conducted for the following course:

Candidates must fulfill the following criteria for appearing NIMCET: Candidates should have a Bachelor’s degree of Full Time 3 years duration from a recognized University. Candidates should have secured at least 60% marks or 6.5/10 …

Examination Pattern

  • NIMCET is a multiple choice objective type test of 2½ hours duration having maximum 480 marks.
  • Candidates have to mark the correct responses in the OMR sheets.
  • The test consists of 120 objective type questions each carrying equal marks.
  • These 120 multiple choice questions can be divided into four sections as mentioned below:
1.      Mathematics (40 questions)
2.      Analytical Ability and Logical Reasoning (50 questions)
3.      Computer Awareness (15 questions)
4.      General English (15 questions)
  • There is negative marking for wrong answer.


The NIMCET syllabus is very general and extensive covering the following areas.
  • Mathematics
  • Analytical Ability and Logical Reasoning
  • Computer Awareness
  • General English

Contact Address
PrintRecommend This Site

move to top