NATA stands for National Aptitude Test in Architecture, which serves as a gateway to bachelor's degree in architecture.


National Institute of Advanced Studies in Architecture (NIASA), Pune, an Academic Unit of the Council of Architecture (CoA), is the body assigned the task of conducting NATA. NATA stands for National Aptitude Test in Architecture, for admission into five year Bachelor of Architecture course, offered at all the architectural institutions including NITs, IITs, government/government-aided and private institutes/colleges, universities and deemed universities across the country. It is mandatory for every architectural institution, imparting five year B Arch degree course, to admit students on the basis of NATA score.


The entrance test is conducted for the following course:


The candidate must pass their 10+2 or equivalent examination from a recognized board/university, with a minimum of 50% marks in aggregate, with Mathematics as one of the main subject.

Examination Pattern

National Aptitude Test in Architecture is a two-part test including a paper-based on drawing test and a computer-based online aesthetic sensitivity test.


Candidate preparing for the NATA must prepare themselves for a drawing test, which tests the aptitude of a candidate's sense of perspective and ability to make it visually appealing, includes a pencil sketch about themes from daily experience. The other is an aesthetic sensitivity test measures perception, imagination and observation, creativity and communication along with architectural awareness.

Contact Address

National Institute of Advanced Studies in Architecture (NIASA),
CDSA, Survey no. 58 & 49/4, Bavdhan Khurd, Paud-Pirangut Road,
(Before Ambrosia Resort; Off Chandni Chowk), Pune 411021
Tele: 020-6573-1088 (10am - 4pm)
Fax: 020-2295-2262
PrintRecommend This Site

move to top