Information on courses, admissions process, exams & results of Uttar Pradesh Technical University (UPTU Lucknow), Lucknow

Uttar Pradesh Technical University

Uttar Pradesh Technical University (UPTU) is an affiliating University with its educational jurisdiction spread across the entire state of Uttar Pradesh. It is headquartered in IET Campus at Sitapur Road in Lucknow. UPTU Lucknow has a centre and regional office in Noida as well. It is also one of the largest technical universities in India. Owing to its size, number of colleges affiliated to it and geographic dispersion, it has been sub-divided into five zones with 45-50 colleges in each zone.
Educational Streams
Regional zones of Uttar Pradesh Technical University work in tandem to ensure quality teaching-learning processes. The University works to ensure uniform technical education and research in its own premises as well as affiliating institutions. It has affiliated more than 317 technical colleges and the numbers are still growing. The UPTU affiliated colleges conduct technical programs such as BTech, , BArch, B Pharma, BHMCT, MTech and PhD imparting graduate, postgraduate and doctoral level education. These institutions, which include both the government and private, are located all over the state. Professional education like Business Management is also offered by many of these colleges affiliated to Uttar Pradesh Technical University.
The University conducts state level Entrance Examination, UP-SEE, for admission into various programmes affiliated to it. Every year thousands of aspiring students take this entrance examination all over the state. The University conducts central examinations each semester for all the affiliated colleges and institutions and declares results using technology-enabled systems. Medium of instruction and examination is English.
Being an affiliating University, UPTU ensures that all necessary facilitates are provided by the affiliated colleges. It encourages the students to participate in co-curricular activities conducted at the inter college, state and national level. It has a grievance cell that tries to resolve the problems faced by the students. The University also ensures that the students enrolled with it are placed successfully with renowned companies.
Established on 8th May, 2000, Uttar Pradesh Technical University (UPTU) was set up by the Government of Uttar Pradesh through UP Act Uttar Pradesh Adhiniyam Sankhya 23 of 2000. As per the University Act, UPTU propagates technical education that includes programmes of education, research and training in Engineering, Technology, Architecture, Town Planning, Pharmacy, Applied Arts and Crafts.


  • Department of Civil Engineering
  • Department of Computer Science and Engineering
  • Department of Electronics Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Department of Electrical Engineering
  • Department of Chemical Engineering
  • Department of Applied Science
  • Department of Bio Technology

Contact Details:
Uttar Pradesh Technical University
IET Campus, Sitapur Road,
Lucknow - 226 021

Phone: +91-522-2732194
Fax: +91-522-2732189
PrintRecommend This Site
Report Error


move to top