Information on courses, admissions process, exams & results of University Of Mysore (Mysore University), Mysore

University Of Mysore

University of Mysore is an affiliating state university, declared as an autonomous body on 3rd March, 1956, by the University Grants Commission (UGC). The University is amongst the foremost institutions of its kind setting new standards in the sphere of higher education in India. It has been accorded with A+ status by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council, an autonomous body of the University Grants Commission (UGC).
Educational Streams
Mysore University has established several affiliated colleges and constituent colleges besides postgraduate departments, specialized research and training centres and postgraduate centres that together offer about 55 regular academic programmes. In addition to this a number of employment-oriented diploma courses and certificate programmes are also run by the University. 

The postgraduate departments, funded by many national and international institutions offer advanced studies and research facilities. Eminent scholars and deputing scholars under cultural exchange programme have been appointed by the University besides establishing research laboratories, awarding teacher fellowships and sanctioning research funds to create a proper research environment. 

Courses such as M Sc in physics, chemistry, and biochemistry have been introduced by the University to make basic sciences more attractive. It has established collaborations with various Chinese universities for resource sharing and training in information technology education. Introduction of next generation I-School at its campus is earmarked as important step towards scientific development.
Mysore University has developed residential accommodation for women and men with modern amenities and comforts. The University campus also hosts an amphitheatre, an auditorium, and a swimming pool.  Its Library houses a collection of a large number of books, journal titles and volumes of journals. The library is well-supported by CD-ROM, Internet, e-mail, fax and photocopy services, besides resource-sharing arrangements. 

The Computer Centre established at the University's Manasagangotri campus has mainframe, LAN and Internet facilities for research, teaching and training. Besides developing excellent infrastructure facilities the University has also established tie-ups with many well-known and prestigious universities and institutions abroad for academic, technical and cultural exchange.
On July 27, 1916, the University was founded by the then Maharaja of Mysore, His Highness Sri Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV and his Dewan, the renowned engineer-statesman Sir M.Visvesvarayya. It was announced an autonomous body on 3rd March, 1956, by the University Grants Commission (UGC).


  • Ancient History and Archaeology 
  • Anthropology 
  • Applied Botany 
  • Botany 
  • Biochemistry 
  • Chemistry 
  • Christianity 
  • Commerce 
  • Computer Science 
  • Economics and Cooperation 
  • Education 
  • English 
  • Environmental Science 
  • Food Science and Nutrition 
  • Geography 
  • Geology 
  • Hindi 
  • History 
  • Jainology and Prakrit 
  • Journalism and Mass Communication 
  • Kuvempu Institute of Kannada Studies 
  • Law 
  • Library and Information Science 
  • Management Science (BIMS) 
  • Mathematics 
  • Philosophy 
  • Physics 
  • Political Science 
  • Psychology 
  • Sanskrit 
  • Sericulture 
  • Social Work 
  • Sociology 
  • Statistics 
  • Urdu 
  • Microbiology 

Contact Details:
University of Mysore
Vishwavidyalaya Karyasoudha
Crawford Hall - 570 006

Phone: +91-821-2419361
registrar @
PrintRecommend This Site
Report Error


move to top