Information on courses, admissions process, exams & results of Tezpur University, Tezpur

Tezpur University

Established in 1994, Tezpur University came into being by an Act of Parliament. The University campus is located at Napaam in East of Tezpur, the head quarter of Sonitpur District of Assam. The objective of this central university is to conduct employment oriented and interdisciplinary courses. Courses conducted by the university are of direct relevance to the region.
Educational Streams
Tezpur University conducts certificate, diploma, degree and post degree courses in several fields. The courses are based on semesters. The university also promotes research in areas which are of special and direct relevance to the region and in the emerging areas in Science and Technology. 

Tezpur University provides admission opportunities to the students in customary as well as professional courses in various domains. PhD programme is offered in all the departments except the Department of Sociology, Food Processing Technology and Mechanical Engineering. Selections to the B Tech Program are made on the basis of ranking in the All India Engineering, Architecture Entrance Examination (AIEEE) conducted by the CBSE. Admission to the PG Degree, Diploma and certificate programmes are made on the basis of performance in the Entrance Examination and interview.
The university has three men’s hostels: Brahmaputra, Charaideo and Nilachal. Three women’s hostels are Bordoichila, Dhansiri and Pragiyotika. A central library has more than 42,000 volumes of print collection and e-journals. Guest house, health center and playgrounds are also available. A Training & Placement cell helps students to get career opportunities.
Tezpur University was established with an act of Parliament. It was established as a central university in 1994. The university has been set up to full-fill the emerging trends in higher education and find appropriate paths for the development of the state and country as well.


School of Science and Technology
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Chemical Sciences
  • Department of Mathematical Sciences
  • Department of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology
  • Department of Food Processing Technology
School of Engineering
  • Department of Computer Science and Engineering
  • Department of Electronics and Comm. Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering
School of Humanities & Social Sciences
  • Department of English and Foreign Languages
  • Department of Cultural Studies
  • Department of Mass Comm. and Journalism
  • Department of Sociology
School of Energy, Environment & Natural Resources
  • Department of Energy
  • Department of Environmental Science
  • School of Management Sciences
  • Department of Business Administration

Contact Details:
Tezpur University
Napaam. - 784 028

Phone: +91-3712-267007/8/9
Fax: +91-3712-267005/6
PrintRecommend This Site
Report Error


move to top