Information on courses, admissions process, exams & results of Rabindra Bharati University, Kolkata

Rabindra Bharati University

Rabindra Bharati University also known as Rabindra Bharati is the third university to come into existence in Kolkata. Rabindra Bharati University offers a serene atmosphere with close connections to the natural environment for study. The University was founded as a mark of tribute towards the great literary figure, Rabindranath Tagore, on the occasion of his 100th birth year.
Educational Streams
Rabindra Bharati has sculpted a different meaning of education for its students that includes enrichment through participation in cultural programmes like folk fairs and art exhibitions. The course offered by the University includes research paper of the works of Tagore. Besides this, the students can also take admission in courses offering training in Vocal Music and Rabindra Sangeet, Instrumental Music, Dance, Visual Arts, Painting and Sculpture.
Apart from the contemporary education, Rabindra Bharati has also established a School of Vedic Studies to promote studies in the field of Vedic literature. The school is responsible for sponsoring lectures, holding seminars and helping in conducting doctoral or post-doctoral research in the thrust area of Vedic Studies, and also collecting and preserving manuscripts, recording traditional Vedic recitations, publishing journals and bringing out other publications.
The University has seperate hostels for boys and girls. The university has established a library that caters to the information needs of the faculty, research scholars, students, officers and non-teaching staff. It also provides subsidized students’ canteens apart from a staff canteen. The University also looks after the extra curricular activities of the students by providing training to its students in spots. Inter-University tournaments are regularly organized. There is a Medical Unit for providing medical services to the students, teachers and non teaching staff.
Ravindra Bharati was established on May 8, 1962, under the Rabindra Bharati Act bythe Government of West Bengal to mark the birth centenary of Rabindranath Tagore.


Faculty of Arts
  • Department of Bengali
  • Department of English
  • Department of Sanskrit
  • Department of History
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Economics
Faculty of Visual Arts
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Library and Information Science
  • School of Vedic Studies
  • Centre for Studies and Research On Tagore
Faculty of Fine Arts
  • Department of Rabindra Sangeet
  • Department of Vocal Music
  • Department of Instrumental Music
  • Department of Dance
  • Department of Drama
  • Department of Musicology
  • Department of Mass Communication & Videography
  • Department of Painting
  • Department of Sculpture
  • Department of Graphics (Print Making)
  • Department of History of Art
  • Department of Applied Art
  • Department of Museology

Contact Details:
56A Barrackpore Trunk Road
Kolkata - 700 050

Phone: +91-33-5568079 / 5573028
Fax: +91-33-5568079
PrintRecommend This Site
Report Error


move to top