Information on courses, admissions process, exams & results of North Eastern Hill University (NEHU), Thalassery

North Eastern Hill University

North Eastern Hill University (NEHU), a Central University, caters to the needs of north eastern states of India. Headquartered in Shillong, the territorial jurisdiction of the University is spread over the entire state of Meghalaya. The University’s main objective is to cater to the Tribals of the state and it reserves about 50% of the seats are for the state tribals.
Apart form the main campus at Shillong, NEHU has opened another at Tura housing the Departments of English, Garo and Education. Recently a Department of Rural Development and Agricultural Production has been added to the existing three departments at Tura.
Educational Streams
North-Eastern Hill University has established about 28 departments and 4 centers of studies under its six faculties/schools and an under graduate college. Currently, it has brought under its banner 65 under graduate colleges and 8 professional course colleges. More than 1500 student are pursuing their Master's degrees and research students are working for their M.Phil and Ph.D. at NEHU. NEHU has appointed faculties with excellent academic careers from almost all parts of the country and its student community is drawn from different parts of North-East as well as other parts of India. The teacher-student relationship maintained by the University is encouraging and helpful for both teachers and students communities.
Many departments of the University receive special grants from University Grants Commission under its Special Assistance Programme. Five of the University’s science departments including Geography receive financial aid from the Departments of Science and Technology, as part of its scheme for funding infrastructure development in higher academic institutions. Besides all these grants and aids, a large number of research projects have been awarded to individual members of faculty of the University notably by the CSIR, DST, DAE, UGC, ICSSR, Ford Foundation and DBT, DF & E, and MoEF.
NEHU maintains a Central Library that houses a large collection of books on various subjects equipped with high-end computers and other electronic and audio-visual equipments to provide in-house and online services. It has also established residential complex for the faculty, hostels for boys and girls, a modern workshop for the University Scientific Instruction Centre, a building for the Regional Instrumentation Centre, and Guest House-cum-Seminar Complex. Apart from the infrastructural facilities it provides scholarships to needy and brilliant students.
Established in the year 1973, North Eastern Hill University (NEHU) was set up by an Act of Parliament. The prime objective of NEHU is to disseminate and advance knowledge by providing instructional and research facilities in various branches of learning.


School of Physical Sciences         
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Statistics
  • Centre for Science Education
School of Social Sciences  
  • Department of History
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Law
  • Centre for Cultural & Creative Studies
School of Life Sciences      
  • Department of Biochemistry
  • Department of Biotechnology &
  • Bioinformatics
  • Department of Botany
  • Department of Zoology
School of Human & Environmental Sciences
  • Department of Anthropology
  • Department of Geography
  • Centre for Environmental Studies
  • Department of Rural Development & Agricultural Production (Tura Campus)
School of Humanities & Education            
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Education (Tura Campus)
  • Department of English
  • Department of English (Tura Campus)
  • Department of Garo (Tura Campus)
  • Department of Hindi
  • Department of Khasi
  • Department of Linguistics
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Center for Adult & Cont. Education
  • Center for Distance Education
School of Economics, Management & Information Sciences
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Library & Information Sciences
  • Department of Management (Tura)
School of Technology
  • Department of Electronics and Communication Engineering
  • Department of Information Technology
  • Department of Basic Sciences & Social Sciences

Contact Details:
Thalassery - 793 022

Phone: +91-490-2721001/2550101
Fax: +91-490-2550076
PrintRecommend This Site
Report Error


move to top