Information on courses, admissions process, exams & results of Mangalore University (University of Mangalore), Mangalore

Mangalore University

Mangalore University, located at Konaje in Karnataka, is a public university accredited by a four star by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC). MU has been providing higher education and conducts research in various fields. The jurisdiction of the university stretches over the revenue districts of Dakshina Kannada, Udupi and Kodagu of Karnataka state.
Educational Streams
Mangalore University has been imparting higher education in field of Arts, Commerce, Science, Law and Management. This was the first university in the country to start Bachelor's degree programmes in the fields of Hotel Management, Fashion Design, Garment Design, Leather Design and Human Resource Development and Post Graduate programmes in Computer Software and Yogic Sciences. Apart from the regular courses, it also provides innovative and need-based Master's degree programmes in Computer Science, Business Management, Microbiology, Electronics and Geo-Informatics. MU has facilitated Variable Energy Microtron Accelerator to enhance research activities in Radiation Physics and interdisciplinary areas.
Apart from the basic facilities MU has a Library equipped with all modern facilities. The library has enough collection of study material and meets the needs of almost all users visiting the library. The Computer Centre of the University is well equipped with reasonably good computer system environment and manned by a team of qualified professionals to assist computational services to various Academic / Administrative departments. The University has established a University Science Instrumentation Centre (USIC) to provide Central Analytical Facility for teaching and research in various departments of the University. A variable energy accelerator, Microtron, has been installed to facilitate front line research studies in several important areas of radiation physics and interdisciplinary areas of science and technology.
Initially the undivided Dakshina Kannada (South Canara) district was under the educational jurisdiction of University of Mysore. Owing to the growing demand for a local university in 1970 a post graduation centre of Mysore University was established at Mangaluru. Finally in 1980, Mangalore University was established to satisfy the demand for separate university. Later, the Engineering and Medicine disciplines were transferred to Visvesvaraya Technological University and Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences of Karnataka respectively.


  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Commerce
  • Centre for Study of Social Exclusion & Inclusive Policy (CSEIP)
  • Microtron Centre
  • Ocean Science & Technology Cell

Contact Details:
Mangalore University,
Mangalagangotri - 574 199

Phone: +91-824-2287276, 0824-2287347
Fax: +91-824-2287367, 0824
PrintRecommend This Site
Report Error


move to top