National Institute of Technology (NIT) Agartala, in Tripura, conducts undergraduate and postgraduate level programmes.

NIT Agartala

National Institute of Technology (NIT) Agartala is the only degree level engineering college in the state of Tripura and one of six degree and higher level Technical Institutes in the whole of the North-Eastern region.The central government has upgraded Tripura Engineering College to the category of National Institute of Technology and the institute has been accorded the status of Deemed University.

NIT Agartala was formerly known as Tripura Engineering College and was affiliated to Calcutta University. At the time of its commencement in 1965, Tripura Engineering College, offered courses in Civil, Electrical and Mechanical Engineering and the curriculum structure and examination system was at par with Bengal Engineering College. After the establishment of Tripura University, the college was affiliated to Tripura University. From the 1999-2000 academic session a new four-year degree level course in Computer Science & Engineering has been started. 

NIT Agartala conducts undergraduate, postgraduate and doctorate level programmes in various streams of engineering. The institute conducts all its engineering courses under the strict rules and regulations of the Government of India. NIT Agartala is well equipped with state-of-the-art facilities to make sure all round development of its students within the campus.


The college offers the following undergraduate programme:
B Tech
    B Tech (Production Engineering)
    Chemical Engineering
    Civil Engineering
    Computer Science & Engineering
    Electrical Engineering
    Electronics & Instrumentation Engineering
    Electronics and Communication Engineering
    Mechanical Engineering

Post Graduate:
The college offers the following postgraduate programmes:
M Sc
    M Sc (Chemistry)
    M Sc (Mathematics)
    M Sc (Physics)
M Tech
    M Tech (Civil Engineering)
    M Tech (Computer Science & Engineering)
    M Tech (Electrical Engineering)
    M Tech (Electronics & Communication Engg)
    M Tech (Mechanical Engineering)


The college offers the following doctorate programmes:

  • Civil Engineering
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Humanities and Social Science


One should have passed Higher Secondary or 10+2 examination with at least 50% marks in Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics (45% of marks for SC Students and 40% of marks for ST students)

For admission in Lateral Entry to 3rd semester or 2nd year of BE/BTech one should have passed three years diploma in engineering with at least 60% marks in aggregate. Admission is made by a state level competitive examination conducted by a state level committee under Higher Education Department.

Post Graduate:
For pursuing MTech, a student should possess a Bachelors degree in Engineering/Technology or equivalent in an appropriate area, with at least 60% marks or equivalent ( CPI of 6.5) for General category students (55 % marks or CPI of 6.0 for SC/ST students)

For admission to the MCA the candidate must have scored minimum 60% marks (6.5/10 CGPA) in the examinations of class 12th, Graduation with Mathematics/ Statistics/ Business Mathematics as one of the subjects. There is a relaxation of 5% for SC/ST candidates.

Candidates are required to have passed graduation in any stream, from any recognized University.

Minimum educational qualification required for admission to Ph.D. Programme in Engineering Departments is any one of the following. A Masters Degree in Engineering / Technology or equivalent in an appropriate discipline with minimum of 60% of marks (CPI of 6.5) OR a Bachelors Degree in Engineering/Technology with an excellent academic record securing minimum 70% of marks.

For admission in Science and Humanities & Social Science Departments one must have a Master degree in the relevant discipline with a first class or a minimum of 60% of marks or equivalent.
Admission Procedure:

The seats are allotted to different Test Qualified candidates separately [AIEEE/CET (State conducted test/University tests)/Association conducted test].

Seat allotted by Tripura Board of Joint Entrance Examination:
218 for Tripura State and 22 seats for North Eastern Council and 10 seats for Govt. of India out of total seats 250.

The NEC seats and the Govt. of India seats are selected by the concerned state government based upon their criteria.

However, the 50% marks requirement in Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics is mandatory for all candidates in General category, 45% for SC and 40% for ST.

Entrance Test: AIEEE Exam, Tripura JEE, Lateral Entry

Post Graduate:
M Tech / ME / PG / Postgraduate
Candidates having valid GATE score are given preference for admission onto the M Tech course. Other eligible candidate can apply under the sponsored section having at least two years of working experience in the respective field. However the sponsored candidates are not granted any financial support from the Institute.

Entrance Test: NIMCET, GATE Exam
  • E-Library facilities
  • Laboratories
  • Workshops
  • Separate hostels for boys and girls
  • Cafeteria
  • Training and Placement Cell
  • Computer Laboratory
  • E-mail connection
  • Banking and Post Office
  • Extra Curricular activities
  • Health Care

Contact Address:
NIT Agartala
Agartala - 799 055, Tripura
Phone: +91-381-2346630 , 2346360
Fax: +91-381-2346360/630

move to top