Eligibility For CLAT Exam

Eligibility for CLAT Exam

Common Law Admission Test (CLAT), is conducted for admission into law program at under graduate as well as at post graduate level by eleven national law universities namely National Law School of India University, Bangalore, NALSAR University of Law, Hyderabad, National Law Institute University, Bhopal, West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata, National Law University, Jodhpur, Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur, Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar, Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University, Lucknow, Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Patiala, Chanakya National Law University, Patna, and National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi, in rotation.
The entrance examination is mandatory to seek admission in LLB and LLM program in most of the reputed national universities across the country.
For undergraduate LLB program
The applicants should have passed senior secondary or equivalent examination in any discipline from a recognized Board, with at least 50% aggregate marks. Relaxation of 5% is there for SC/ST/ persons with Disability (PWD) candidates. In addition, the candidates belonging to General/OBC category should not be less than 20 years of age as on 1st July of the year of admission and 22 years in case of candidates belonging to SC/ST and persons with Disability category. The candidates appearing in the qualifying examination are also eligible.
For postgraduate LLM program
The applicants should have passed LL.B/B.L. examination or an equivalent examination from a recognized University with not less than 55% marks in total. Relaxation of 5% is there for SC/ST/OBC and those with physical disability. The aspirants, who are appearing in the qualifying examination, are also eligible for the test.
PrintRecommend This Site

move to top